Baked Doughnuts (AKA Testing my New Toy)

I bought a new toy. I was searching online for a bundt pan that was a perfect replica of the shape of half a pumpkin… I failed. After about an hour of searching I gave up. I no longer believe in the existence of a half-pumpkin shaped bundt pan. However, in my fervent searching for the non-existent pumpkin-pan, I came across a doughnut pan. “A doughnut pan” you ask? Yes, a doughnut pan. It looks like a cupcake pan but instead of little cups to fill with cake batter there are little round doughnut shapes. I had to buy it. It was a wonderful day when the pan was delivered to my front door. I love getting packages. I love new baking toys. I love baking.

The pan came with cake recipes on the back but the reviews for the recipes said that the doughnuts turned out dry, so I used my favorite chocolate cupcake recipe. The recipe is from http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chocolate-Cupcakes/Detail.aspx. I love this recipe because it makes a dense, moist cake and it is super easy. No last-minute trips to the store for buttermilk or 70% cocao required.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease the doughnut pan very well.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk

Directions:

 Sift together the dry ingredients and set aside. Then cream together the butter and the sugar. I was a little discouraged the first time I creamed these together because it didn’t seem like there was enough butter. It took a long time but just keep at it. Trust me the butter and sugar will combine. Then beat the eggs in one at a time and add the vanilla. Here is what it should look like…

Then alternate beating the dry ingredients and the milk. Once combined, fill a pastry bag with the “doughnut” batter. (If you don’t have a pastry bag you can just do what I do and fill a plastic freezer bag with the batter and cut off the corner- works like a charm). Pipe the batter into the pan and pop it into the oven (middle rack please) for 18 minutes. Once they are done let them cool completely in the pan. Then just dump them out.

I’m sure you can eat them as is. However, I like my doughnuts with frosting and sprinkles so I decorated them.

Don’t they look yummy? I made them on a satuday afternoon. Dan ate four of them for breakfast on Sunday. They are all gone now. It is still Sunday. I guess they tasted good.

Leave a Reply

